Right on Track

essence

Sometimes we have to repeat certain words to ourselves over and over again. Over days and even weeks just to help keep our focus. To help pick us up when we have fallen over a negative thought or feeling. It’s like that story that Pema Chödrön tells about the Buddha:

“On the night on which he was to attain enlightenment, the Buddha sat under a tree. While sitting there, he was attacked by the forces of Mara. The story goes that they shot swords and arrows at him, and that their weapons turned into flowers.

What does this story mean? My understanding of it is that what we habitually regard as obstacles are not really our enemies, but rather our friends. What we call obstacles are really the way the world and our entire experience teach us where we’re stuck. What may appear to be an arrow or a sword we can actually experience as a flower. Whether we experience what happens to us as an obstacle and enemy or as a teacher and friend depends entirely on our perception of reality. It depends on our relationship with ourselves.”

Well, that is why over the last couple of weeks I have needed to repeat some words over and over again to myself. Because I have been experiencing a lot of obstacles and unpleasant circumstances….particularly arising from within my own thoughts and emotions.

Here is what I’ve have personally had to write and say to myself over and over again to transform those arrows and swords into flowers:

“I am right on track, right on schedule. I trust that everything is unfolding perfectly. All is well. I am free to enjoy myself. I am right where I need to be, when I need to be, how I need to be. My life is enough. I am enough. Everything I say or do is enough. In chaos or order, it is enough. My life is natural and wholesome. I am natural and wholesome. I have the grace to recognize and accept that. I have the grace to be free. I go on and on past this moment, past boundaries, past time, past understanding.  I am an infinite being. I AM Infinity, itself. I AM Essence.”

*this post is dedicated to a dear Twitter friend, Ishani, @musicmoonlove “Be blessed, Soul Sister.” ❤

*photo by Alisdair Miller, New Day

4 thoughts on “Right on Track

  1. Ishani is a Twitter friend of mine, too. I had a similar experience recently that changed how I view criticism (darts and arrows). For one year, I have been bothered by a newish co-worker, who has no understanding of seniority. She has take over so much that students have asked if she is my supervisor.

    Recently, I prepared a list of my complaints before going to a private meeting with the real supervisor. I was ready to talk about how it has been to work with the newish co-worker. The first thing my supervisor said to me is that there have been some complaints. I must have looked like a deer under headlights. Then she smiled, and said, “Don’t worry about that. We all get complaints.” After explaining my side of the story in relation to the complaints, we ended up having a good talk about various things. I returned to my office feeling good. Even though I didn’t vent on my co-worker, I was more aware that I blotch thing up as well, and all of a sudden my resentment towards my co-worker disappeared. This was so cleansing.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ishani is truly a blessing 😊🌸 Sterba thanks so much for sharing your story and experience so openly and honestly. I was really grateful to read it because I too have recently had a similar situation at work. I decided to take positive actions to change what I could within a limited time which I felt good about and learned quite a lot. The extra blessing came when I was able to support a downhearted colleague who had also made similar mistakes by sharing the lessons I learned from. Be blessed 🌸🌻

      Like

Leave a Reply

