The Peal of Laughter

Image

The mountains were laughing. The kind of laughter that rolled off the shoulders of Earth, herself. Her face faint with a slight rosy blush as she slipped on her dusty lavender nightgown touching down with a dark hem of embroidered tree lace…yes the mountains were laughing from sheer bliss.

Chidananda (sung by Deva Premal from her album Love is Space)

Lyrics (translated): I am eternal bliss, I am shiva.

I am not the mind, intellect, ego nor consciousness.

I am not the ears, tongue, nose or eyes.

I am not space, earth, fire or wind.

I am eternal bliss, I am shiva.

I am not breathing power, the seven metals,

nor the five coverings.

I am not speech, hands, feet nor rectum

I am eternal bliss, I am shiva.

I am not envy, anger, nor craving nor attraction.

I am not arrogance nor pride nor religion, wealth, 

lust nor liberation.

I am eternal bliss, I am shiva.

I am not virtue, sin, joy nor sorrow

I am not mantra, pilgrimage,

offering, nor ritual fire.

I am not food, the eating, nor the one who eats.

I am eternal bliss, I am shiva.

I am beyond concepts, beyond form.

I am all-pervading in all the senses.

I see equality in all things, I am neither liberated 

nor in bondage.

I am eternal bliss, I am shiva.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ayxmdd35tqk

 

One thought on “The Peal of Laughter

Leave a Reply

