My Heart Still Beats

Image

…I still can breathe. My heart is whole even though it feels broken. It holds an immeasurable amount of love and tenderness. Yes, even for you, Self. Don’t forget to breathe.

Cast All Your Votes for Dancing

I know the voice of depression
Still calls to you.

I know those habits that can ruin your life
Still send their invitations.

But you are with the Friend now
And look so much stronger.

You can stay that way
And even bloom!

Keep squeezing drops of the Sun
From your prayers and work and music
And from your companions’ beautiful laughter.

Keep squeezing drops of the Sun
From the sacred hands and glance of your Beloved
And, my dear,
From the most insignificant movements
Of your own holy body.

Learn to recognize the counterfeit coins
That may buy you just a moment of pleasure,
But then drag you for days
Like a broken man
Behind a farting camel.

-Hafiz, I Heard God Laughing-

Image

4 thoughts on “My Heart Still Beats

  1. for a moment I thought you were speaking to me alone inside my head…
    so serious yet needed to be heard…
    and then I laughed the last verse put words what I have been trying to understand in the whispers this morning, okay not necessarily the camel farting…
    what a perfect post…!
    Take Care…You Matter…
    )0(
    maryrose

    Like

    • I know things can tend to be serious…but if we don’t take the time to listen deeply to ourselves or to look deeply… well, I was just as surprised as you were about the last line. Thank goodness that humor lurks even in the depths. 🙂 I value your words, Mary Rose. It brings a lightness to My heart. And today I know what I need to post. I’ll let it be a surprise for you. 😉

      Like

Leave a Reply

