Permission to be Angry

Image

I give myself permission to feel my anger in all its fullness. I allow myself to embrace my anger, to take care of my anger. From now on, I give myself permission to feel my anger whenever it comes up. I don’t need to suppress my anger or oppress myself for anyone or any reason from here on out! I can do this because what I feel matters. I count as a person. Allowing myself to feel and be with my anger is the first step in validating myself. It will let me be where I need to be right now. I am angry of the pressure I put on myself. I am angry of having to struggle financially as a single mom. I am angry with the feeling that I need to do more, have more, be more. I am angry with the feeling that I am never enough. That life is never enough.I am tired of dissatisfaction. I am tired of the discouragement of failure. I am tired of striving. I am tired of being tired.

This morning I sent out a wish during my meditation for abundance, for myself, my children, my community, my city, the country where I live, and the earth and all it contains. I sent this wish out in faith because I am a faithful being. I still feel the  pain from my last angry outburst two weeks ago. I still feel the shame, guilt and discouragement of losing my self-control. I still feel the discouragement from the discovery of the delusion that all this time I had been managing my anger when in fact I was suppressing it.

I accept my anger and frustration. I accept my striving. I accept the three d’s of dissatisfaction, disappointment, and discouragement. I accept my sadness and the heaviness it brings. I accept myself. I accept my smile. I accept my joy. I breathe. I breathe in, I breathe out. I accept and I let go. I don’t hold on anymore. I let go. I breathe with the all. The Oneness. I respect my body. I respect my mind. I respect my soul. I respect my well-being. I respect myself. I am quiet inside. Within me I am quiet. I am that I am. I breathe. I am alive. I breathe and I feel the breath of life. I smile. I smile to myself. I smile at the lady shaking rugs from the rooftop terrasse whom I can see from my kitchen window. I release the tension in my neck. I release the tension in my shoulders. I release the tension in my stomach. I release the tension in my head. I breathe in. I breathe out. I let go.

Image

“Genuine forgiveness does not deny anger but faces it head-on.” ~Alice Duer Miller

This link was my personal inspiration for this post:

http://tinybuddha.com/blog/how-acknowledging-your-anger-can-help-you-forgive-and-find-peace/

The following link is a song by Peter Bradley Adams called: From the Sky

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QlcZL6EhtQo

4 thoughts on “Permission to be Angry

  1. Pingback: Anger! Hidden Pain. | Cassie Warren SOCIAL TALK

  2. Pingback: I found my Anger… Now what? | Psycho Sister Tales

    • It isn’t so easy to put myself out there like that Briant. But that article I attached to the post deeply affected and challenged me, so who am I to hold back? I’ll take the applause as encouragement, soul food. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

